Exam Centre


IELTS exam information

IELTS is one of the most popular certificates recognised by over 10,000 institutions in 140 countries. IELTS is widely accepted as a proof of English language ability by educational institutions in the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, USA, Canada, the European Union and other countries. IELTS is also required for emigration to Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

The certificate is valid up to 2 years after taking the exam.

You can look for a recognising institution by using the IELTS Global Recognition System, an interactive tool designed to help you find universities, professional organisations, employers and government agencies around the world that accept IELTS.


IELTS is available in two test formats:

  • Academic Module: The Academic format is for those who want to study in an English-speaking university or Institutions of Higher and Further Education. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses is based on the results of the Academic test. 
  • General Training: The General Training format focuses on basic survival skills in social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada and New Zealand must sit the General Training test.

Each recognising organisation sets its own entry requirements. In some cases both modules may be accepted. If you are in doubt as to which module to take, you should contact the organisation you are applying to in order to check their requirements.

Candidates are tested in four areas:

Listening 4 sections, 40 items, 30 minutes
Reading 3 sections, 40 items, 60 minutes
Writing 2 tasks (150 and 250 words), 60 minutes
Speaking 11-14 minutes

Everyone takes the same Listening and Speaking tests. There are different Reading and Writing tests for the Academic and General Training modules. The Listening, Reading and Writing tests must be completed on the same day. There are no breaks between the three written tests.

The Speaking test is a face-to-face interview with a certified Examiner. It is interactive and as close to a real-life situation as a test can get. Depending on your test centre, the Speaking test may be offered on the same day or up to a week before or after the other parts.


You receive individual band scores for Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking and an Overall Band Score on a band scale from one to nine: 1 (the lowest) to 9 (the highest). There is no pass or fail in IELTS.

Many universities require a score of between 6 – 7 points on IELTS for undergraduate programs. Please check directly with your chosen university for exact entry requirements.

Score Competence levels:
9 Expert user
8 Very good user
7 Good user
6 Competent user
5 Modest user
4 Limited user
3 Extremely limited user
2 Intermittent user
1 Non user

Results become available 13 calendar days after the test date. They are sent by mail to the institutions you have chosen. You can check your exam results online.

Changing or canceling an exam date

You can change or cancel your exam date up to 5 weeks in advance at no extra charge.
If you change or cancel your exam date after this period and up to 5 working days after the exam date, the administrative fee is 112 BGN.
If you wish to change the date of the speaking exam, you can do so 7 days before or up to 7 days after the speaking date. In this case the administrative fee is 112  BGN.

Refund of Fees

The exam fee paid is fully refundable if you apply 5 weeks before the exam date.
If for medical reasons you cannot take the exam and within 5 working days after the exam date you submit an application and attach a medical certificate, you will be refunded the amount of BGN 336, with an administrative fee of BGN 112.

Review of exam results

If you would like your exam materials to be reviewed, you can submit a request for this. The fee is BGN 230.

Full information about the exam: IELTS webpage or Cambridge ESOL website.